A Changed Heart

Kim’s Journey

Parenthood September 28, 2010

Filed under: Children,Family,Infertility,Prayer — Kimberly @ 8:34 pm

That is the name of a current television show and I enjoy watching it, but it makes me stop and think. We take that for granted. Parenthood. We think that we get married, we will have babies, raise them and life will be wonderful. There are difficult times at all ages of your life. When your kids are little, when your kids are teenagers, when they become adults. One time isn’t easier than the other – just depends on how you handle it when it comes. There are many young couples who don’t have children by their choice, but just as many who don’t have children because they can’t. So many people think that because a couple does not have children that they are being selfish and the statements “when are you gonna have kids” or “your biological clock is ticking” or “when are you gonna settle down” can sting to the bone when the couple is struggling with infertility. It makes me stop and think of all the times I have said that to someone jokingly. Now I am seeing it from a different light. My daughter and her husband have struggled with this for 5 years. Every month she is heart-broken all over again. Every month I am heart-broken for her. For me, it just happened. I had a daughter and a son, really without any struggle or wait. I can’t tell her that I understand what she is feeling, because I don’t. I feel so helpless. I can’t make it happen, go away, or fix it. All I can do is pray. So the next time you are around a young couple, think before you ask them why they don’t have kids yet. Sometimes they just can’t. Keep my daughter and son-in-law in your prayers as they start the tedious steps of IVF. Pray that it will work for them. Pray that if it doesn’t I will be able to comfort my daughter. Pray for me.

 

Leave a Reply

